Online Communities

Connect with people impacted by movement disorders over Zoom for a support group gathering to share tips, ask questions, and get social despite social distancing. We offer four different groups, each with a specific focus and audience.

 

No registration required; simply click the Join Group button at the appropriate time to enter the group directly.

Mondays – Flying Solo 

As a single person living alone, your needs and experiences are different than those of people who live with a spouse or others. Join our online community for those who are Flying Solo with Parkinson’s and other movement disorders. Connect, share your challenges and concerns, and find support. This group is facilitated by Judy Talley.

2:00 pm Pacific/Arizona, 3:00 pm Mountain, 4:00 pm Central, 5:00 pm Eastern
2nd and 4th Monday of Each Month

Tuesdays – Resilience Online!™ for Everyone

Join PMD Alliance for a livestream gathering of people impacted by movement disorders.  Open to everyone: people with Parkinson’s, family members – anyone impacted by a movement disorder is invited.

12:30 pm Pacific/Arizona, 1:30 pm Mountain, 2:30 pm Central, 3:30 pm Eastern
Every Tuesday of the Month

Tuesdays – Real Talk: Care Partner Discussion Group

Real Talk Care Partner Discussion Group is designed exclusively for those who are caring and supporting someone on their journey with Parkinson’s or other movement disorder and is looking for a deeper level of conversation. This uniquely focused group offers a place to engage and process the more difficult topics while enhancing connection, encouraging dialogue, and offering shared experiences between its members. This social worker facilitated group may either focus on the material from a specific video from the Getting Real! Online video library in a roundtable discussion or engage in an open discussion based on the needs of the group. Come as you are and settle in, it is time for some Real Talk!

2:00 pm Pacific/Arizona, 3:00 pm Mountain, 4:00 pm Central, 5:00 pm Eastern
4th Tuesdays of Each Month

Tuesdays – YOPD Connections

“You’re too young to have Parkinson’s!” Loneliness, misunderstanding, and invisibility are all too common in the experience of living with Young Onset Parkinson Disease (YOPD), but we can change that. If you are living (or have lived) with YOPD, you are invited to join a newly-forming online community of others who understand your experience of living with an “old man’s disease” in a young person’s body. Join the conversation as we build the connections, community, and resources we need to live better with YOPD.

5:00 pm Pacific/Arizona, 6:00 pm Mountain, 7:00 pm Central, 8:00 pm Eastern
2nd and 4th Tuesdays of Each Month

Thursdays –  Family PD Community

Care partners, adult children, and those with a loved one in a facility are invited to a livestream support group created just for you. Facilitated by PMD Alliance staff member Rachel Staenberg, this group will help you share tips, ask questions, and discuss the difficult reality of taking care of a loved one with a movement disorder in these uncertain times.

1:30 pm Pacific/Arizona, 2:30 pm Mountain, 3:30 pm Central, 4:30 pm Eastern
Every Thursday of Each Month